BRB Mountaineering, Cebu, Lanaya, Alegria, Trek

Mt. Lanaya…Conquered!


It was an answered prayer – climbing without the rains and winds on our feet. The 4th climb with BRB and yet a first fair weathered climb. Yay! No sleeping wet experienced at Osmeña Peak. Cold winds and slippery trek in both Talinis and Canlaon climbs.

Group picture just before the ascent sans Jame, Pong and Flo2x!
Group picture just before the ascent sans Jame, Pong and Flo2x!

The day started with Migo and I in a rather tiresome argument. The call time was 6:00 AM yet we were still having our breakfast by then. He must have been so pissed because it was the first time that I witnessed him snap and raised his voice when I kept reminding him that we’re ALREADY super late.  The thought of not going crossed my mind.

When we joined the group at South Bus Terminal, I was not in my usual jolly self. I know I needed the time to calm myself so I wanted to be separated with the group. Like an answered prayer, when we board the bus bound to Alegria, most seats were occupied. The trip took about 4 hours. The sleep must have taken my angst away because on the bus stop in Barili, I was feeling more like myself.
The Stop Over
The initial plan was to have our stop at Alegria Plaza for lunch. But for an unknown reason, it was later changed to Stop Over bakeshop.
At the stop over. While the others are busy on other things, I had Migo took my picture. 
At the stop over. While the others are busy on other things, I had Migo took my picture.

We waited about an hour for Pong to joined the group. When he arrived, we then proceeded to Nanay Lucing’s house to meet with the guide and have our names listed on the mountain’s log book. We had our lunch there. They were so nice to offer us free “humba” and “ginamos”.

Ascension
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Me and my pack!

Then the suffering…the journey rather…started. 😛 The first 15 minutes was so-so. The next few minutes was literally hell. I felt so hot. It was like my body is burning. I had to stop every 5 minutes of walking. I pity those who walked after me. They had to stop because I hold the line. 😐 I was a little shy I had to do that to them…just little though because I know in the next few minutes, my body would adjust and I wouldn’t be that slow anymore.

Taking a break at the house near the Windows XP camp!
Taking a break at the house near the Windows XP camp!

For me the whole ascension trail was divided into three parts. First is the path to the house that has a captivating view. Then the endless climb in rocky, leaves-laden, loose soiled path with too much ants. And finally, the plain path where Charry got bitten by bees.

The windows XP camp!
The windows XP camp!
On the 1st part with Gliana, Charry, Dave and Banky.
July, Ali, Florence, Dea and Dave (nibalhin dayon ug sides. Hmph)
July, Ali, Florence, Dea and Dave (nibalhin dayon ug sides. Hmph)
Us girls!
Us girls!

The Actual Climb The hardest part was the 2nd. I feared for my life twice on it. The soil was so loose and a little bare. No roots to hold on to. I had to use my knees to get me through it. I actually crawled. It was a first! And before reaching that life-and-breath-taking path, we had to endure the the constant nuisance of ants. We can’t rest in a place too long because ants’ would get in our shoes and bite. The only consolation I had on that was the view when I reached the top. It was so beautiful it makes you forget all the hardships in getting there.

More awesome view before the 2nd part!
More awesome view before the 2nd part!
Resuming the trek! Part 2!
Resuming the trek! Part 2!
Banky had cramps!
Banky had cramps!
Pong to the rescue!
Pong to the rescue!
View of the sea!
View of the sea!
I wonder what these guys are thinking?
I wonder what these guys are thinking?
Waiting for our town to crawl?
Waiting for our turn to crawl?
The Camp & More
It was night time when we reached the camp!
It was night time when we reached the camp!
Happy campers!
Happy campers!
Menu for the night! Spams!!!
Menu for the night! Spams!!!
Migo&Miga's matching jacket!
Migo&Miga’s matching jacket!
Just below the peak!
Just below the peak!
Group picture!
Group picture!
And another!
And another!
And another one!
And another one!
And of course, Migo & Miga moment!
And of course, Migo & Miga moment!
Breaking up camp!
Breaking up camp!
Charry & I's very dirty shoes!
Charry & I’s very dirty shoes!
Camwhoring while waiting for the others!
Camwhoring while waiting for the others!
Camwhoring while waiting for the others!
Camwhoring while waiting for the others!
Camwhoring while waiting for the others!
Camwhoring while waiting for the others!
Camwhoring while waiting for the others!
Camwhoring while waiting for the others!
Finally group picture!
Finally group picture!
Again!
Again!
And again!
And again!
Bye, bye Kalo2x Peak!
Bye, bye Kalo2x Peak!
Views going down!
Views going down!
Views going down!
Views going down!
Views going down!
Views going down!
Views going down!
Views going down!
Views going down!
Views going down!
Views going down!
Views going down!
Views going down!
Views going down!
Ah almost there!
Ah almost there!
Ah almost there!
Ah almost there!
Ah almost there!
Ah almost there!
Finally, Kawasan!!!
Finally, Kawasan!!!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Charry & I’s rock pose!
Hello Kawasan!
Hello Kawasan!
And this ends our Lanaya trip!
And this ends our Lanaya trip!
4 thoughts on “Mt. Lanaya…Conquered!”

Say something ...

