Apo, Davao, BRB Mountaineering, Philippines, Trek

Apo in 4 Days & 3 Nights Via Kapatagan – Kidapawan Trail


image

It was everything but a blissful memory, that exceeds far beyond expectation. Apo Climb was my 4th but the greatest of them all. The fears and doubts that loomed over months before has truly become my biggest support. If not for those doubts, Apo would have quickly become a Pulag experience.

image

Knowing that a few less adventurous acquaintances have survived Apo didn’t change my plans a bit. Climbing my country’s highest peak would not be easy so I have to be fully prepared physically, mentally and emotionally. To aid the physical preparation, despite liking dancing, starting to join Zumba sessions was never easy. It took a lot of push and rewards to get me going. Glad they did. 🙂

image

Our group leader has always mentioned about being self-sufficient but it didn’t get to me until the actual implementation. Cooking was never a problem on the previous climbs, but the decision to separate the group into teams of 3 took an emotional blow. This was the boyfie and I’s 4th climb but we never really bothered ourselves with cooking until then. I was actually hoping to be paired with one of the pro’s (someone who know how to use the burner). Oh well! I was forced to be that pro, and letting my team down is a no-no. And what help me through that? It was that new year’s resolution to not mind what other people think too much. I should only be responsible with myself and those that rely on me. Never force yourself on people. Do what you can and just wait for people to offer. Never ask and rely on anyone for anything to avoid heartbreak. It’s a rude resolution, but so far it gave me nothing but strength.

image

Lastly to prepare me mentally, I need to know the nature of the trail. Unfortunately, I couldn’t find anything that suits my overly detailed specification so I just armed myself with what I knew so far – to conquer a mountain is not easy. Always expect the worst. Never let your guard down.

image

And…so much for the over-introduction and prologue…come with me as I try to relive the journey towards and away from Philippines’ highest peak, Mt. Apo on the next posts! 🙂

image

image

image

image

image
Apo Series:
Prologue -> You are here.
Apo Day 1: Overnight At Tinikaran Camp
Apo Day 2: Sunrise and Sunset in 2 Different Peaks
Apo Day 3: Lake Venado’s Grandeur
Apo Day 4: Playing with Kidapawan River

13 thoughts on “Apo in 4 Days & 3 Nights Via Kapatagan – Kidapawan Trail”

  1. Hi kring! I enjoyed reading your blog. I’m just confused though because you titled it 3D/2N climb but it is actually 4D/3N. Or, did I just get it wrong. 🙂

    Anyway, my friends and I will climb Apo next month, also via Kapatagan-Kidapawan, but until now we don’t have yet a contact guide or tour operator. Can you share to us your contacts there? Thank you.

    Like

    1. Ohh you were right. 😀 I will update LOL 🙂 Anyways, thanks for reading.

      BTW, our guide is Kuya Lito. Contact him at this number 0921 259 1275.

      If you were able to contact him, tell him I said hi. I do hope he remembers us. We left him all our chairs. 🙂
      He was really nice.

      Have fun climbing! Will check your posts also.

      Like

    1. This makes me smile…BIG TIME! 🙂 It feels good to know that someone get my messages across each posts.

      Hey I’m Kresia. What’s your name? Surely it’s not Dab, right? Hahaha! Thanks for dropping by. 🙂

      Like

    2. Mas masaya din magbasa pag napuntahan mo na ang place, mas damang- dama bawat storya ng nagkukwento.

      I’m Loty pala. Nice meeting you here Kring. 🙂
      More adventures to come.

      Like

  2. I really liked this post about your Mt. Apo trip. I see you have a lot more. It’s always nice to read about others’ adventures. Keep them coming! Have fun and stay safe! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks Angelo!!! Looked into your blog a bit. It’s nice to know you’re into mountain also. Will look into more of your adventures soon! Have fun!!!

      Like

Say something ...

