Cebu, Lanaya, Alegria, NCR Trekkers, Travel, Trek

Mainit Springs & Montaneza Falls, Malabuyoc, Cebu (Lanaya Side Trip)


Aside from the buko break, trekking w/ NCR trekkers is a different experience compared to my other climbing groups because for twice now, we wrapped up the climb at a body of water. The Hambubuyog climb started & ended at Inambakan Falls. This climb was supposed to start & end at 2 different falls but unfortunately, we weren’t able to proceed as planned to Cambais Falls.

However, we still ended at a body of water in Malabuyoc. What set it apart is that we were able to enjoy both cold & hot water in one place. Yay!

Hello Mainit Springs
Upon crossing the river after 15 minutes of walking from where we had our bukos, the cottages & tables of Mainit Springs were the first indications that you have arrived.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Almost there, Analyn!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The first view after crossing the river!

It was passed lunch time so we were all famished that I thought of just buying cooked food. But the group insisted on cooking so we did. Nadia and Ads led the cooking. While on support mode and to sate my hunger & glutonny, Nalyn & I bought Indian mangoes. The salted shrimp was so yummy I ate 3 mangoes. Lol

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Cooking girls!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Cooking team!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Cooking busyness!

Like the previous, we had rice blooper again. The combination of heat & thin cooksets burnt the rice turning it into brown. 😦 Good thing there were extras, we didn’t have to eat the brown rice. πŸ˜›

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The burnt rice!

Lunch Time
I was hungry but when it was time to eat, I lost some of the appetite. I was so sure the 3 mangoes took all of it away. It seems it wasn’t just me who ate little because there were leftovers.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Foooddd!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Lunchhhh!

After eating, Chaola volunteered to wash the dishes. Yay! While waiting for her, Kat, I & the others cleaned the table. Because Kat had some personal dilemma, she was left at the cottage. Poor Kat! Another reason to go back to Mainit Springs.

Montaneza Falls
When we arrived, before we were allowed to settle at our cottage, we were ushered to a small hut beside the entrance. There we were asked to logged in our name & were given an orientation about the place. We paid Php 20 each as well for the entrance.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Orientation!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The trekkers are all ears!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Some tidbits about the spring!

There were 7 falls. I was planning to picture everything but when I was actually there, I had totally forgotten about it.

I was pleasantly surprise at the beauty of Montaneza falls. Unlike the other falls I’ve been to that has an open space, this one is conveniently hidden at an enclosure. The rocks lining up its sides were astoundingly beautiful. I couldn’t count how many times I’ve told myself that it would be nice if I had a cam that can capture just how high those rocks were.

Stairs to the entrance of the falls!
Stairs to the entrance of the falls!
Photo just before going in!
Photo just before going in!
The first of countable stone crawling while exploring the falls!
The first of countable stone crawling while exploring the falls!

Each nook was picture perfect. I could see myself camwhoring at every corner but since the human tripod was not around, I just lingered a while & take photos for the blog.

Caught a local kid jumping!
Caught a local kid jumping!
The last falls! It doesn't look like it's high but it is. :D
The last falls! It doesn’t look like it’s high but it is. πŸ˜€
Us enjoying the water!
Us enjoying the water!
Twin Falls!
Twin Falls!

The 7th falls was off limits due to falling rocks but I didn’t know really how they count the falls. Haha! Next time, it might be nice if they put some indication. πŸ˜€

Mainit Springs
You could pass the springs on the way to the falls but it would be nice to take a dip at the falls first. It would save you time for the shower which is a requirement to bath in the springs.

View of the spring from the falls entrance!
View of the spring from the falls entrance!
3rd & 4th falls!
3rd & 4th pool!
Another view of 3rd & 4th falls!
Another view of 3rd & 4th pool!

There were 4 falls with varying temperatures. The hottest spring is at 42 degrees celcius, then 36 and
then around 20s. Because I am always a bit on the crazy and confident type, I tried the hottest first. For a normal person, my tolerance to heat is pretty abnormal but it was just too hot.

When I transferred on the 2nd pool, it was tolerable, it was hot as well but pretty tolerable. I dipped my legs first & was so surprised that it turn pink. I was so happy and joked that I might stay in the water longer to retain the color. πŸ˜›

Posing with the sign just above the first & hottest spring!
Posing with the sign just above the first & hottest spring!
Lounging on the 2nd pool!
Lounging on the 2nd pool!
At the other end of the 2nd pool!
At the other end of the 2nd pool!

I swam and stayed in the 2nd pool. The hot water was very soothing. After a while, I decided that I was OK and took my chance at the 1st pool. And yayyyyyyy….the 2nd pool must have put my body in a state where I could already tolerate the 1st pool. I only dipped twice though afraid that anytime soon I might get a heart attack ’cause my heart beats like crazy. After trying on the 1st & 2nd, some of my companions decided they had enough, so we ended our time with the spring, gathered our belongings, ready for the shower.

The hot water source. An according to the
The hot water source. An according to the “Ate” who made sure we follow the rules, the source of the hot water is an undiscovered volcano.
Me enjoying the hot water!
Me enjoying the hot water!

Goodbye Mainit Springs
After everybody has done showering we left Mainit around 4:30 PM. We were told that the “habal2x” drop off was still 15 minutes of walking but we enjoyed talking so much that we didn’t noticed the drop off and walked up to the high way instead. πŸ˜€ By 5:30 PM, we were on a Ceres bus bound to Cebu City. πŸ™‚

Group picture before leaving Mainit Springs!
Group picture before leaving Mainit Springs!
The girls were now in slippers & sandals!
The girls were now in slippers & sandals!
Quick stop!
Quick stop!
Ice candy stop! my bag looks longer 'cause I put the jacket on top. :D Used the huband's bag for this trip!
Ice candy stop! my bag looks longer ’cause I put the jacket on top. πŸ˜€ Used the huband’s bag for this trip!
Walking resumed!
Walking resumed!
OOTD before going home!
OOTD before going home!

If you missed the start of this post here it is. Till the next adventure…not a mountain this time but canyooneering in Badian. Yay! First “Try” post this year. What are my other “try”s? See wakeboarding in Camsur, ATV in Mayon.

8 thoughts on “Mainit Springs & Montaneza Falls, Malabuyoc, Cebu (Lanaya Side Trip)”

  1. I GUESS THERE’S MISTAKES FOR BOUNDARY GRAPHS coz SATELLITE MAP>>>> ALL MOUNT LANAYA belongs to or within the jurisdiction of the municipality of MALABUYOC, CEBU… YOU CAN TRY TO VIEW IT VIA SATELLITE MAP THE ENTIRE MOUNT LANAYA is inside the MALABUYOC…. I THINK HINDI yan naayos since ALEGRIA separated the mother town MALABUYOC.

    Like

Say something ...

