Anniversary, NCR Trekkers

A Year of Adventure w/ NCR Trekker’s Club


The first with NCR Trekkers was a blast and every trek thereafter. Today I aged 1 with the club. It has been quite an amazing journey. I was able to scale most of Cebu’s trekking destinations and learned a whole lot about mountains and people. Because today is my 1st anniversary, I will answer 10 questions for our newsletter “Anniversary Special”. LOL I am quite excited to be in it. 

1. Tell me something about yourself!

Kring in a Nut Shell (copied from The Wanderfull Life‘s About Page)
So sometimes I really find it hard to introduce myself since I almost want people to know ‘everything’ about me at once. Haha! But most of my friends will not believe me if I say I’m having a hard time talking since I’m always bubbly. They call me an extrovert but I start to believe I am more of an ambivert. I love people. Kindness, bravery and team work makes me cry. If you wanna know more of my inner wiring, I have a thought blog here.

I work as a software engineer and help manage our little rental business on the sides with my husband, Mark. We call each other Migo & Miga. We got married in 2015 at a whimsy little celebration of which we DIY-ed everything. He’s the wind beneath my wings. Without him, I wouldn’t have known how amazing it is to travel. Like many Filipinos, my salary for the first years at work were for the family. I rarely had anything left for myself. Known to be thrifty yet he goes gaga over me to the point of paying all my early trips. We started trekking and board gaming as a couple in 2011 after 3 years of being in a roller coaster relationship. I can be very jealous and volatile when it comes to love life. But Migo made me better and made me the best version of myself.:) Need more cheesiness, here’s a blog about Migo&Miga.

I’m also a frustrated writer or novelist, you can read some of that here. Aside from that I’m actually trying to learn how to write in a sort-of-reporter writing at a blog I created at work on my first year of being an Ambassador in our company.

So in a nut shell? Hmmm! I am a lot of things in one and easily get excited in almost everything. At my worst, I am self-righteous. At my best, I seek to empower people to explore and live the life they want regardless of the societal norms. Everything is just possible.

“Live. Believe. EMPOWER.” is my guiding principle.

2. How do you find trekking?

Everything in trekking is AWESOME. It’s tiresome but addictive.

3. When do you learn that you love trekking?

The husband and I started trekking together in 2011 at Osmeña Peak but we got really hooked in 2012. That’s when we started aiming for major climbs (Talinis, Canlaon).

4. How long would you want to be on trek?

For as long as I can or shall I say, we can. I’m brave and all but without the husband, I’m less braver. Haha!

5. If you are given a chance to trek anywhere of your choice? Where and when?

The Himalayas or just below it!!! Everest would be nice but I don’t wanna die trying. Haha! So I’m just aiming for a trek in Nepal’s villages. 🙂 We are targeting 2-5 years from now but it all depends on our plan to produce little Migo or Miga soon. Nyahaha! Or maybe when we are older and richer? Hahaha! But anything goes really.

6. How’s trekking with NCR Trekkers in one year?

AWESOME!!! I’ve trekked to almost all destinations in Cebu. My network of outdoor friends tripled or quadrupled. But the best takeout I have was having the confidence to organize a trek. I have always been an organizer but there was something about trekking that makes me afraid to commit. This time was different. Maybe it’s the thought that I am not alone in the journey. =)

7. What’s the best thing you love about trekking w/ NCR Trekkers?

Everybody is having fun. Trekking with them is always a FUN TREK. We laughed. They do “hugot” lines. They are absolutely game in playing almost anything but right now they are hooked with “Werewolves”. They are also supportive in responsible mountaineering.

8. How does it feel to be part of the fast growing outdoor community?

Pressured. Haha! Outdoors has somewhat become mainstream now. By introducing a lot of people to the wonders of outdoors, we may be tipping the balance. As much as we try to propagate responsible mountaineering, we can’t always track everyone to be doing the same. Sadly, people are natural dummies and only cares about themselves. I am pressured to let everyone we have converted to love the outdoors to care for the environment too. Trek not only for the pictures but for mother nature as well.

9. If you could change one thing about this trekking phenomenon, what could that be?

A standard operating procedures for all mountains in Cebu should be implemented. I kind of hate at first about organizing a trek in Mt. Kapayas since the Municipality of Catmon is very strict about it. But right now, seeing what happened to other mountains in Cebu, perhaps other government should all follow Catmon’s lead.

10. What is your message to all the aspiring individuals who wanted to be adrenaline junkies?

Go for it and quench your thirst. Do not listen to that inner voice in your head telling you, you can’t. Because YOU can. You and I are NOT very different at all. I’ve been with the mountains for about 5 years now but each trek is still the same. I still feel out of breath on ascent and grateful for descent. If there’s one thing that has changed over time with each peaks was the thought that whatever hardships I experienced in reaching the summit, everything will be forgotten when it all becomes a memory. =)

3pEAKS
Here’s a picture of me in my 3 favorite mountains in Cebu. =)
1 thought on “A Year of Adventure w/ NCR Trekker’s Club”

  1. Congrats on your anniversary Te Kring! Looking forward for more climbs and also we’ll get excited with the little migo or miga 😀 haha

    Like

Say something ...

