Cebu, Hambubuyog, Ginatilan, NCR Trekkers, Trek

Climbing Mt. Hambubuyog, Ginatilan, Cebu – The Final Leg


OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Hello there, Mr. Moon!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The first clearing after the scary covered walk!

After catching our breath at the house, our other companions were still nowhere. I decided to survey the trail or the lack of it. There was one but it was hidden by a twig you’d thought otherwise. The husband was very adamant in going but I insisted. Doing nothing at that point was out of my options since the sun was already setting. If not for the 2 other trekkers who vouched to go, I wouldn’t have pursued.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Waiting…
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
More waiting…

Many times along the way, my mind wandered, scaring the hell out of me by thinking of horror/thriller movies like Wrong Turn & Chain Saw Massacre. My guess was that one or two of my companions were thinking the same. We were silent all throughout probably trying to grasp every sound that would meant danger in the midst of the covered trail.

When we reached a clearing, my heart felt at ease for a while. After everyone in the group gathered, we discussed on what to do. Should we wait for the others there or continue? The decisions were divided. We reached a consensus to just continue but leave a trace for our companions to see.

After the clearing, the path has growned narrower at an edge of a cliff exposing a somewhat open space a far. By that time, the moon was high above us.

Then we reached another clearing. I was always expressing how it could be a campsite. I didn’t want to go on anymore. I wasn’t tired at all but the stress of walking in the dark took a toll. I was hungry as well. All I wanted at that point was to set up camp and prepare dinner.

“That must be the campsite. We seemed so near.” I heard from the trekkers before me. It warmed my heart a little but the angst returned when I realized that was all we’ve been feeling from the start, yet here we were, almost 2 hours after, and the campsite was still nowhere.

Our rice cooker. :D
Our rice cooker. 😀
Readying our dinner!
Readying our dinner!
Dinner time!
Dinner time!

When we reached of what seemed to be a local’s path, most of the trekkers went to the right. I decided to survey the left with Nadia before me. She was scared, so was I. But at that point, my want to settle overpowered all the fears I had. But the path went on and on. We were a little far from the others so we decided to go back.

The husband called me from the top of the small hill above the path. I hurriedly reunited with him and the others. The husband told me that there was a place where we could camp but basing on the blog, we could see the chapel on the camp site. The chapel was nowhere.

Washing in progress!
Washing in progress!
The very cool water system. The tank are connected to the roof.
The very cool water system. The tank are connected to the roof.
Last people standing.
Last people standing.
Outfit of the night.
Outfit of the night.
And of course, Migo & MIga!
And of course, Migo & MIga!

There was a commotion again. I somehow lost my temper because even at that point, they were still willing to wait. It was already 7:00 PM. People must have misunderstood me then but I only want to be safe and prepared while waiting. I didn’t want to do nothing. I was hungry and cold. We have tents & everything in our bags. Why were we waiting? We didn’t know what happened to the others, wouldn’t it be better if we just do what we could while waiting? What if they arrived too late? Or not at all. And more what ifs.

I am Miss Optimist but in the mountains, I often thought of the worst. So for me the best approached would have been to camp & prepare our food while waiting. From that experienced, I realized that on a big group, there should always be a Plan B for cases like that. Everyone should have been in synch on what to do. Good thing the weather was good but what if it suddenly rained? It was cold. Maybe I was just taking too much at heart by what happened to Neptali Lazarus, a mountaineer who died at Mt. Halcom due to hypothermia.

Getting ready for breakfast!
Getting ready for breakfast!
The view of the chapel from the camp site!
The view of the chapel from the camp site!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Tent roll call!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The group who, unlike us, enjoyed the socials. 😛
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
This saddens me, the trashes that were already there before us. 😐
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Our neighbors!
My handsome husband!
My handsome husband!

Minutes after we settled down & argued what to do, we saw a flicker of light from a far as if signaling us. We noticed another light as well, we assumed it was the Chapel. It seemed near but no one knew the way. People were once again divided. I was one with the group who opt not to go. We stayed put and waited. Arrgh! Waiting & doing nothing was a worst feeling so I kept on budging the husband. Then, Tat, the leader of the 2nd group arrived but Sir Jay wasn’t with them.

Unfortunately, Tat & his companions didn’t knew the way as well. So he contacted the guys which were already at the camp. Thanks God to cell site! Haha! They replied that where we were right then was just very near. They have been to were we are and can vouched that it was safe to walked to the Chapel. Upon knowing it, everyone got ready to go while the husband & I re-packed our bags. We were taking out our burners & cookset by then. 😀

The way to the Chapel from I-do-not-still-know-what-peak-was-that was really easy & straightforward. Because my headlights were dwindling, I had to put them off and relied on the moon. It was my first time to trek on the moon light. We had a night trek in Apo but it was very dark & scary. Everything was in pitch black darkness if you turn off your headlights.

The texters told us it was some 30 minutes walk, but lo and behold, we only spent 15 minutes. Upon seeing the Chapel relief came over me. The husband was quick to set up camp while I started preparing our stuffs for cooking. And finally at around 9:00 PM, we had dinner. We didn’t mind that our cooked rice was a little uncooked. Pfft! I was still unfit for cooking rice but good thing we have Nadia. 🙂 She has become our official rice cooker. 😀

After dinner, we washed our stuffs in the chapel. Most retired early for the night while Migo & I stayed to basked on the moonlit night for a while.

As planned, we only distributed water for breakfast. It was a first time and I find it quite nice. We were able to save time by not cooking. Each member had a choice of breakfast as well. The husband and I had oats. We were ready by 8 AM but took some time waiting for the other group who have managed to enjoy the night thus woke up late the next day. But it was OK since I it gave us ample time to cam whore.

While breaking up camp, the Baby’s dad went to our camp with the baby. I was finally able to confirm if they own the blog. And yes, they own it. Pam, which I knew later arrived and finally were able to exchange conversations offline. Had the chance to ask the name of the cute & adventurous little fella as well. Her name is Asha. They are such a beautiful family and of course very unique. No ordinary parent would expose their 2-year old baby to trekking but if Migo and I have one, we would surely do the same. Hats off to you guys. Migo & I are very excited to have our own and be like you. 😀

Cool Family of Hey Mis(s) Adventures.com!
Cool Family of Hey Mis(s) Adventures.com!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
JUMP SHOT!!!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Yay! The husband is now jumping again. See his popular jumps here.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The couple that treks together, smells like shoes together. 😀
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Just had to add this in, cause it’s her birthday!!!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Chilling while waiting for the others!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
And off we go!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The chapel..up close!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The long and winding path!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Just so IGAT this guy!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
And this is where we had an Ate got angry. 😀 I wasn’t really listening to it so…
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The other group waiting for their ride.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Bye, bye Baby Asha! So cuteeeeeeeee!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
A first to meet a family adventurer. Just so cool. Read their adventures here.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The easy way to the Chapel. Taking the habal2x!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The road was very wide & picturesque.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Thanks God the roller coaster ride has finally ended.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The smiling Kuya!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Roll Call Group Picture. 😀 Because we were so many, it was easier to roll call this way. 😀
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Group 3 and adopteds!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Nadia’s birthday feast! 🙂
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Enjoying the water!!!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Bye, bye Inambakan! The husband is finally humot.:D
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Lounging at Julie’s while waiting for the Ceres back to Cebu!

Leaving the camp, we followed the road already but still very eventful. Got a local angry by getting water, lost & hitched hike a government truck bound to Inambakan. The ride was very bumpy & scary. But of course, it was very timely ’cause if we didn’t had that blessing, we would have spent 2 or 3 more hours down to Inambakan Falls. And finally we were back to Inambakan, ready to cook lunch & celebrate our rice cooker’s birthday. Yayyyy!

7 thoughts on “Climbing Mt. Hambubuyog, Ginatilan, Cebu – The Final Leg”

    1. Hehe! We said “yes” to each other in Osmena Peak. Mt. Hambubuyog is special to us because we, together with Sir Ruel and a small team, first established a route from Inambakan to the summit of Mt. Hambubuyog.

      Like

Say something ...

